Keanan Duffty

Leave a comment

April 24, 2013 by thejourneyual

Keanan Duffty
Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design
Astrology Silk Scarf 1986
Union Flag Military Parka Coat, 2007

Bio: Keanan Duffty was born in England and is a Council of Fashion Designers of America member and graduate of Central Saint Martin’s. Duffty established his men’s and women’s collection in 1998 and it was sold at  premium international retailers including Barney’s New York, Bloomingdale’s, Bergdorf Goodman, Macys West, Harrods, Harvey Nichols, Lane Crawford, United Arrows and Beams until 2006. In 2006 Duffty created the England’s Dreaming by Keanan Duffty collection for Target. In 2007 Duffty designed a 24 piece men’s collection in a direct collaboration with David Bowie. Bowie By Keanan Duffty was sold at 1200 Target stores throughout the USA. Duffty has also worked as a designer with many high profile international brands including Ben Sherman, Gwen Stefani’s L.A.M.B, Reebok, Dr. Martens, Gola and currently is Global Design Director for Moods of Norway and Senior Director of Fashion Merchandising at the Academy of Art University, San Francisco.

 

Statement: I grew up in Doncaster, South Yorkshire, in the 1970’s. That was the last place one would expect to find fashion, which was understood to happen in Paris, Milan and New York. So when punk rock exploded in the public consciousness it opened the door for my generation to express themselves visually and sonically. We did that through making our own music and customizing our own clothes with zips, duct tape and safety pins. As I contemplated my future I considered going into further education to actually learn to sew. Scanning the Sunday newspapers I noticed that stylish youths seemed to regularly name check a London art college; Saint Martin’s in Charring Cross Road. I was inspired to seek my future at that place of learning and I am happy to say that it fulfilled my wildest dreams. Natalie Gibson, the head of textiles at Saint Martin’s during my college years nurtured my interest in screen printing. Natalie also got me my first record deal and introduced me to people like Sir Paul Smith. When I was about to graduate I created a series of silk scarves for Paul Smith’s Covent Garden store and I believe that provided me with my first income from fashion. I realized that not only was this fun, I could also make a living from it. I’ve always been inspired by popular culture, be it music, film, contemporary art or television. I love books-I got to the library all the time and I am inspired by anything that I connect with emotionally.

Leave a Reply

